| polski | english 

02 - 19 October 1980

Attended by 149 pianists from 37 countries.
The jury assessed the artistic interpretation of each of the participants on a scale of 1-25 points.
The average was calculated upon the same basis as the previous Competition
as well as for the the list of competitors admitted to the next stage.
The results of the second stage were determined on the basis of the average of points gained
only in that stage. The outcome of the third stage was established on the basis
of a sum of the averages of points won in the second and third stages.
After the finale, the competition Director presented the jury with the sums of the average a
chieved by the finalists, in all stages, including the finale, and the prize winners were selected.
A minimum of 66 points was necessary to win the first prize.
Starting with this Competition, separate points were given not only for the performance
of a polonaise and the mazurkas but also for the interpretation
of the finale concerto, which was also rewarded by a special prize.

Prize I

Dang Thai Son
Prize II

Tatyana Shebanova
Prize III

Arutyun Papazyan
Prize IV

nie przyznano
Prize V
(ex aequo)

Akiko Ebi
Prize V
(ex aequo)

Ewa Pobłocka
Prize VI
(ex aequo)

Eric Berchot
Prize VI
(ex aequo)

Irina Pietrova

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance
of the mazurkas went to
Dang Thai Son and Ewa Poblocka.

The Fryderyk Chopin Society Prize for the best performance
of a polonaise was awarded to
Dang Thai Son and Tatyana Shebanova.

The National Philharmonic Prize for the best performance
of a concerto was presented to
Dang Thai Son and Tatyana Shebanova.

Honourable mention:

Alexander Lonquich (West Germany), Hung-Kuan Chen (Taiwan), Kevin Kenner (USA),
Angela Hewitt (Canada), Bernard D`Ascoli (France), William Wolfram (USA),
Dan Atanasiu (Rumania), Ivo Pogorelich (Yugoslavia).